QotD: My 10 Things

What are 10 things you've done that other people probably haven't? 
Submitted by Janette.   

Computerwise in no particular order:

1) Started my website in 1996

2) Use the internet before the WWW

3) Sent email via a PDP11

4) Surfed the net using a dumb terminal

5) Spoofed email addresses to confuse coworkers

6) Used Ebay when you could browse all the listings in two hours

7) Hooked a Decwriter II to a CoCo I

8) Made money building and repairing computers in the 80s

9) Made a Ethernet/Arcnet/Internet bridge

10) Ran a dialup BBS built from junk

Non Computer Stuff (no particular order):

1) Build and Maintain high voltage test equipment

2) Shrunk quarters with 100,000 amps πŸ™‚

3) Street raced and never got caught.

4) Got groped by a Venezuelan National Guardsman

5) Climbed the Coba Pyramid without hold to the rope.  Same for the Chichen Itza Pyramid

6) Ate Rattlesnake sausage

7) Was born in an insane asylum (well it was a regular hospital when I was born)

8) Stumbled across an animal sacrifice altar

9) Got married at 10:00 AM on New Years Day

10) Had to give directions to my home to the sheriff so he could serve a warrant on me.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to QotD: My 10 Things

  1. mariser says:

    heh. I see we have a few in common.

  2. IG says:

    Awesome. Truly.#4 – But did you enjoy it?#8 – Where were you two when you found this thing??#10 – LOL! Details?

  3. Lauri says:

    LOL, that's so sweet! (you both being married on the same day, I mean)
    How completely creepy about the animal sacrifice!
    As for the computer stuff….that is TOTALLY COOL!
    It boggles my mind to think of the changes you have seen between then and now!
    (pictures of shrunken quarters, please!) πŸ™‚

  4. Lord Kalvan says:

    IG,#4 well it was a bit shocking. It was a pat down and he didn't use the backs of his hands…. He stopped just after finding it! I felt like saying what did you expect to find down there.#8 Mars Hill Kentucky. North west of Bowling Green. Its where two creeks merge and undercut a layer of rock. You can walk under the edge. Mariser and I were dating and she was studying geology. So I had to take here there. Cool geology and then we noticed the altar and the burned goat legs nailed to the trees and then my truck would not start….#10 Bench summons. Just short of an arrest warrant. Over a traffic accident and an accusation of hit and run. I was innocent I tell you. Anyway, they could not find my home. A 1959 travel trailer in the county. In the end I gave them the instructions and they still couldn't find it. So I told them I would just come to the courthouse so they could serve me. And I did. Luckily I never needed the sheriff in an emergency.

  5. Lord Kalvan says:

    Lauri, I posted the quarters.

  6. Lauri says:

    Gaaaaa about the altar and the goat legs!
    Now to go read about the quarter! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

