1 Million Fucking Watts

Well I had heard about this German Dude who had made contacts with 100 countries via amateur radio on the 432 MHz band.  Well at that frequency its close to line of sight.  Hard to contact lots of countries.  But he does EME aka Moon Bounce.  Ok that opens up half the planet.  Still not easy.  So I read he has a 1500 watt amp and an antenna array with 28.4 dBd of gain.  Hmm  interesting.  Plug it into an ERP calculator.  ERP is Effective Radiated Power.  It comes out to 1037745 watts.

That is a bit over a Million Fucking Watts of power!!!!

So PSA:  Don't fly over his house.  Oh yeah,  at first I was going to self censor but in honor of George Carlin,  I won't.
Makes my 100 watt amp seem puny.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1 Million Fucking Watts

  1. Porphgyrl says:

    I'm glad you didn't censor – for George's sake. Oh yeah, that's a shitload of power.

  2. Lord Kalvan says:

    Porphgyrl, I am glad I didn't either. And yes that is a shitload of power.

Leave a Reply

