Steel Toed Wierdness

Went to buy steel toed shoes today.  Work requires them ever since someone dropped a 50 pound test weight on his toes and broke them.  The toes and not the weight.

So work buys me a new pair every year.  Last time I found the the style and size I wanted and opened the box only to find a pair of wornout running shoes.  OK,  someone put the steel toed work boots on and walked out with them  Understandable since if you work a legit day labor construction job,  you have to provide your own safety equipment.  I can see someone doing that.  Today however I can't figure out.

I went to try on shoes at the Shoe Carnival.  I think I settled on the only pair that was not on sale in the whole store.  Anyway before then I opened a box of steel toed Woverines and found 1 new and 1 used boot.  Both were Woverines.  Same style and the used one wasn't really in bad condition.  So while the incident last year I could comprehend,  today just didn't make sense.  On legged man who just has to have NEW steel toed boot?  It was the right boot BTW.  If that helps.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Steel Toed Wierdness

  1. Laurie says:

    Maybe the guy spilled paint or tar or something on his right boot and just wanted a nicer-looking one again.

  2. Lord Kalvan says:

    Laurie, no paint or tar. Just the polished from wear leather look. Nothing really wrong with it other than it was obviously used.

  3. Lauri says:

    Now that IS a mystery! But at least it's a mystery that makes us smile!Whenever I see a "Shoe Carnival" I imagine shoes lining up to ride the Ferris Wheel and the Tilt-a-Whirl. That's awful nice of work to buy you boots. Our stupid job won't even pay for our name badges. If ours wear out (mine is 12 years old) we have to pay 10 bucks for a new one. The clear mailing tape is helping mine last until I retire!

  4. Lord Kalvan says:

    Well they didn't have much of a choice. Since they did not require safety shoes at the time of employment, they can not require us to buy them now. Tehy could fire us but then we could draw unemployment and screw their rates up. But I think would would have done it anyway. We got a new safety officer and he wanted safety glasses in the lab. SO the ones of us with good vision got cheapie glasses and the ones without (me included) got prescription safety glasses free. They could have just made us wear the ugly goggles.

  5. Lauri says:

    Wow. Prescription safety glasses for free……is this OSHA demanding all this good stuff?

  6. jaypo says:

    What I can't understand is why you keep picking boxes with weirdness inside of them… o_O Does your feets have self-esteem isshoes?

  7. Lord Kalvan says:

    Maybe they just want a walk on the wild side?

  8. Lord Kalvan says:

    I think its an attempt at keeping OSHA away……

Leave a Reply

