NaBloPoMo – Trains – The John Bull

As I said earlier I would be doing model trains for this NaBloPoMo. All my current trains are HO scale (1:87).  I might post 1:1 trains I don’t own.

The first I will post is my model of the John Bull.  The John Bull is the oldest operational locomotive in the world and the oldest working self-propelled vehicle.  It is on display at the Smithsonian.  It was built in 1831 and was operated in revenue service from 1833 to 1866.  It was last operated in 1981.  BTW,  John Bull is Britain’s Uncle Sam.

My model was a gift to me from Marisa when we were dating.  So yes it is that old.  It was part of Bachmann’s series of early American trains.  This example was made in Hong Kong under British rule.

The original John Bull in 1993

NaBloPoMo 2011

This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo, Trains and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaBloPoMo – Trains – The John Bull

  1. Lauri says:

    I love learning about these!

Leave a Reply

