I am 134! And proud of it!

Out of 134!  Yep I came in last place nationally in the 2015 Field Day in my category.  Now I did better overall.   2442 out of 2720 overall.  Or 3rd of out 3 in Kentucky in my category.

Field Day is an amateur radio contest sponsored by ARRL.  Its basic premise is you operate somewhere other than your main station.  There are lots of categories.  For 2015 and 2012 I operated category 1B1B.  Which is portable battery powered with solar or other non petrol/ AC mains backup.  Other years I have operated 1E.  Which is home station but under emergency power.  While not doing good in the contest,  I have demonstrated the main point,  I can operate under emergency conditions.  For the 134th place I strung a bit of wire around my sister’s gazebo for my antenna.  Way too low and way too short but I still made contacts.

2015 Last Place

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am 134! And proud of it!

  1. stupido63 says:

    One thing, on the numbers, alot of operators never submit their logs. I only have done it in 2014 and 2015.

  2. crankypants says:

    Well, I feel better knowing you & Mariser are in good hands under emergency conditions!

Leave a Reply

